A virtual coworking & creative space for the LGBTQ community.

☂ lynncasper
3 min readJun 25, 2020

When NYC went on pause in March 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, I started missing the days of meeting up with friends in local coffee shops, often with our laptops, to work on our projects. I wanted to have that same motivating energy and the social aspect of working with others while stuck at home. Searching online in hopes to find virtual co-working spaces, I was surprised by the lack of results. There were some useful sites that would help me on my journey, however, out of the options I found, I didn’t see anything active that was specifically for the LGBTQ community.

You may be wondering why it matters if a coworking space is specifically for the LGBTQ community. When participating in the co-working spaces I found for the general public, I encountered situations that brought about anxiety, such as 1-on-1 and break out group interactions with people I didn’t necessarily feel safe or comfortable describing my work to. For someone who is already highly anxious, these situations brought about even more anxiety, to the point that it deterred me from participating completely. I wanted to be part of a space where I could truly be myself without fear of judgement from people outside of my community, so that I could totally focus on the tasks at hand, rather than on managing my anxiety.

--

--

☂ lynncasper

i run the Homoground podcast, elevating LGBTQIA musicians through personal stories and songs. www.homoground.com || my other projects: lynncasper.com